World Parlimentarians Call on the UN to “Stop the Horror” in Sudan

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE, London, Washington, Canberra
  • A decade on from the start of the mass atrocities in Darfur a coalition of politicians from three continents have called for urgent action to address the humanitarian crisis in Southern Kordofan and Blue Nile
  • The Sudanese government is accused of intensifying indiscriminate bombings against rebel-held area.
  • Over a million people have been displaced or severely affected by violence and independent experts warn of man-made famine by April
  • Meanwhile, the decade-long conflict in Darfur continues, with 1.4 million living in camps and 3.5 million relying on food aid.
A global coalition of 98 politicians from the United States, United Kingdom and Australia have signed an open letter addressed to their respective Foreign Secretaries urging them to lead the UN Security Council to action on Sudan at this pivotal moment. The coalition includes House Democratic Whip, Congressman Steny Hoyer (US), William Bain MP, Chair of the Associate Parliamentary Group on Sudan and South Sudan (UK) and Australian Senator the Hon David Feeney, Parliamentary Secretary for Defence. Congressman Frank R. Wolf from the United States House of Representatives said: “Ten years ago this month, the Sudanese government, headed by Omar Bashir, embarked on a campaign of violence in Darfur in which 300,000 people were killed.  The world says, “Never Again,” and yet in the face of mounting atrocities in Sudan today, where is the outrage? History must not be allowed to repeat itself. We must stand up for the people of Sudan”. Baroness Cox from the United Kingdom Parliament said: “There can be little doubt over the ruthless attacks being perpetrated by the Government of Sudan on its own people. I travelled to Southern Kordofan and Blue Nile in January and saw for myself the desperate subhuman conditions being forced upon tens of thousands of civilians. Addressing the conflict in these two areas is crucial to finding a lasting peace between Sudan and South Sudan”. Michelle Rowland from the Australian Parliament said: “UN Security Council Resolution 2046 warned the parties to this conflict of consequences if they did not uphold their obligations and stop the fighting. The African Union has been very clear on the urgent need to address this conflict. We are calling on our respective governments to lead the UN to back up its words with actions”. 


Read the full letter.   List of signatories: Members of the United States House of Representatives: Michael E. Capuano (D-MA) Frank R. Wolf (R-VA) Barbara Lee (D-CA) Michael T. McCaul (R-TX) Steny H. Hoyer (D-MD) John Conyers, Jr. (D-MI) Aaron Schock (R-IL) Sam Farr (D-CA) Mike Honda (D-CA) Wm. Lacy Clay (D-MO) Joseph Crowley (D-NY) Sanford Bishop (D-GA) James P. Moran (D-VA) James P. McGovern (D-MA) Chris Van Hollen (D-MD) Jim McDermott (D-WA) Louise M. Slaughter (D-NY) Melvin L. Watt (D-NC) Alcee L. Hastings (D-FL) Lois Capps (D-CA) Tim Huelskamp (R-KS) Raúl M. Grijalva (D-AZ) John F. Tierney (D-MA) Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX) Betty McCollum (D-MN) Carolyn B. Maloney (D-NY) Adam Smith (D-WA) Michael H. Michaud (D-ME) Scott H. Peters (D-CA) Stephen F. Lynch (D-MA) Keith Ellison (D-MN) Joe Courtney (D-CT) Jackie Speier (D-CA) Joseph R. Pitts (R-PA) Jared Polis (D-CO) Suzanne Bonamici (D-OR) Bill Pascrell, Jr. (D-NJ)   Members of the UK Parliament: William Bain - Labour MP for Glasgow North East Hugh Bayley – Labour MP for York Central Rt Hon Hilary Benn - Labour MP for Leeds Central, former Secretary of State for International Development (2003 - 2007) Nicola Blackwood – Conservative MP for Oxford West and Abingdon Sir Peter Bottomley – Conservative MP for Worthing West Richard Burden – Labour MP for BIrmingham Northfield Geoffrey Clifton-Brown – Conservative MP for The Cotswolds Mary Creagh – Labour MP for Wakefield, Shadow Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Alex Cunningham – Labour MP for Stockton North Sir Tony Cunningham – Labour MP for Workington, Shadow Minister for International Development Nic Dakin – Labour MP for Scunthorpe Mark Durkan – Social Democrat and Labour Party MP for Foyle, former Deputy First Minister for Northern Ireland Louise Ellman – Labour and Co-operative MP for Liverpool Riverside Paul Flynn – Labour MP for Newport West Cathy Jamieson – Labour MP for Kilmarnock and Loudoun Pauline Latham - Conservative MP for Mid Derbyshire Mark Lazarowicz – Labour and Co-operative MP for Edinburgh North and Leith John Leech – Liberal Democrat MP for Manchester Withington Jeremy Lefroy – Conservative MP for Stafford Ivan Lewis – Labour MP for Bury South, Shadow Secretary of State for International Development Rt Hon Elfyn Llwyd - Plaid Cymru MP for Dwyfor Meirionnydd John Mann – Labour MP for Bassetlaw Ann McKechin – Labour MP for Glasgow North Madeleine Moon – Labour MP for Bridgend Penny Mordaunt – Conservative MP for Portsmouth North Stephen Mosley – Conservative MP for the City of Chester Pamela Nash – Labour MP for Airdrie and Shotts Yasmin Qureshi – Labour MP for Bolton South East Dame Joan Ruddock – Labour MP for Lewisham Deptford Lord Avebury – Liberal Democrat Lord Alton of Liverpool – Crossbench Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top – Labour Lord Brooke of Sutton Mandeville – Conservative Lord Chidgey of Hamble-le-Rice – Liberal Democrat Lord McConnell of Glenscorrodale – Labour Lord Collins of Highbury – Labour Baroness Cox of Queensbury - Conservative Lord Curry of Kirkharle – Crossbench Lord Dholakia of Waltham Brooks – Liberal Democrat Lord Edmiston of Lapworth – Conservative Baroness Goudie of Roundwood – Labour Baroness Kinnock of Holyhead – Labour Lord Rea – Labour Earl of Sandwich – Crossbench Baroness Tonge of Kew – Crossbench Members of the Australian Parliament:   Senator Simon Birmingham Liberal Party - South Australia Senator Doug Cameron Australian Labor Party - New South Wales Senator the Hon Jacinta Collins – Parliamentary Secretary for School Education and Workplace Relations Australian Labor Party - Victoria Senator the Hon David Feeney – Parliamentary Secretary for Defence Australian Labor Party - Victoria Laurie Ferguson MP Federal Member for Werriwa Australian Labor Party - New South Wales Hon Alan Griffin MP Federal Member for Bruce Australian Labor Party - Victoria Hon Greg Hunt MP Federal Member for Flinders Liberal Party - South Australia Hon Robert McClelland MP Federal Member for Barton Australian Labor Party - New South Wales Hon Judi Moylan MP Federal Member for Pearce Liberal Party - Western Australia Graham Perrett MP Federal Member for Moreton Australian Labor Party – Queensland Senator Louise Pratt Australian Labor Party -Western Australia Michelle Rowland MP Federal Member for Greenway Australian Labor Party - New South Wales Senator Lisa Singh Australian Labor Party - Tasmania Laura Smyth MP Federal Member for La Trobe Australian Labor Party - Victoria Senator the Hon Ursula Stephens Australian Labor Party - New South Wales Senator Anne Urquart Australian Labor Party - Tasmania