africa_southsudanWhat’s Happening in South Sudan?

South Sudan became the world’s newest nation in July 2011. But in December 2013, fighting between rebel militia and the government escalated into a civil war.

With several thousand killed and over a million people displaced by violence, South Sudan is facing a looming famine and is at high risk of genocide and mass atrocities.

Read Full History


Fragile Birth

South Sudan gained independence in 2011


10k+ Dead

Killed in fighting since December 2013


50,000 Children

Risk death from starvation, as fighting disrupts farming

The Growing Conflict

south-sudan-boy-850South Sudan has struggled with some of the worst development indicators in the world and ongoing tensions both with Sudan and between ethnic groups internally.

High-level political disputes, particularly between former Vice President Riek Machar and President Salva Kiir, eventually led to the dissolution of the cabinet and the firing of Riek Machar. Tensions came to a head when members of the presidential guard and members of the army loyal to Machar fought in the capital, Juba, in December 2013.

The violence has spiraled ever since taking on an ethnic dimension with Machar, ethnically Nuer, leading a group of rebels against President Salva Kiir, ethnically Dinka.

Both the government and the rebels have committed atrocities and international efforts to address the crisis continue.


Recent Blog Posts

The First Step for Peace in South Sudan

Signing South Sudan's peace agreement is a critical first step. But now the real work comes to sustain the peace, avert a famine and to bring justice.
Tweet about this on Twitter22 sharesShare on Facebook278

Other Conflict Areas

  • Syria
    Tweet about this on Twitter33 sharesShare on Facebook616


    Syria is ravaged by a civil war between the Assad regime, allied militias and an array of opposition groups, including ISIS, enabling mass atrocities.
  • D.R. Congo
    D.R. Congo
    Tweet about this on Twitter20 sharesShare on Facebook196

    D.R. Congo

    Since 1996, the civil war in DRC has claimed as many lives as World War II. Targeted attacks toward civilians by militias and the LRA continue.
  • Burma
    Tweet about this on Twitter541 sharesShare on Facebook4,291


    Suffering from vicious attacks and systematic abuse by Burma's government, ethnic minorities are at risk of genocide.
  • South Sudan
    South Sudan
    Tweet about this on Twitter7 sharesShare on Facebook8

    South Sudan

    With thousands killed and over a million people displaced, South Sudan is facing a looming famine and is at high risk of genocide and mass atrocities.
  • Sudan
    Tweet about this on Twitter17 sharesShare on Facebook87


    2015 began with new bombings in Darfur, UN officials were kicked out and Sudanese President Omar al-Bashir called for the removal of all UN peacekeepers.